National Forest Foundation

Community Capacity & Land Stewardship Program

The National Forest Foundation Community Capacity and Land Stewardship Program (CCLS) provides funding to increase the capacity of organizations implementing large scale restoration projects that benefit National Forests and Grasslands.

Program Partnership

Funding for CCLS is currently provided by the US Forest Service Pacific Northwest Region and Alaska Region, and coordinated with multiple additional regional leadership partners. Click here to download an impact report on outcomes of the CCLS program in Oregon and Washington.

Applicant Eligibility

501(c)3 nonprofits, universities, and federally recognized Native American tribes are eligible to receive CCLS grants. If an organization does not meet this eligibility requirement, it must utilize an eligible fiscal sponsor, in compliance with the NFF Policy on Fiscal Sponsorship.



Sign up here to receive our quarterly Taproot eNewsletter and occasional additional notifications relevant to your geographic area. These newsletters include grant opportunities, webinars, collaboration resources, stories from previous grantees, and more.

Key Dates

December 3, 2019: Deadline for Southeast Alaska CCLS Application Submissions

November 14, 2019: Webinar about Southeast Alaska CCLS Program

Project Eligibility

CCLS funding is intended to help community-based and collaborative organizations remove barriers to watershed and/or landscape scale restoration projects, and help facilitate job creation and retention and business development in their region.

Key eligibility criteria include:

  • CCLS is currently limited in scope to projects that benefit National Forests and Grasslands in Oregon/Washington (USFS Region 6), and the Tongass National Forest in Southeast Alaska (USFS Region 10).
  • CCLS projects do not require a cash or in-kind match.
  • All CCLS applications must include a letter of support from the Forest Supervisor of each National Forest or Grassland unit included in a proposal.

Each regional program offered has additional unique desired outcomes. See each program's specific Request for Proposals (RFP) below for full eligibility information.

Application Process

The NFF holds one competitive CCLS round for each of the eligible Forest Service regions each year. Application submission is via an electronic submission process. Submission instructions are listed in the RFP.

Proposal Deadlines and Requests for Proposals

TIP: To be notified when RFPs are released and webinars are scheduled, sign up for the Taproot eNewsletter.

Southeast Alaska CCLS Program
  • Deadline: December 3, 2019 at 9:59 pm AKST
  • Funding Source: USFS Alaska Region
  • RFP: Full program details and application instructions are available in the Request for Proposals (RFP) document. [Download the RFP Here]
  • Informational Webinar: An informational webinar for the Southeast Alaska CCLS Program will be held on November 14, 2019 at 11:00 am AKST. Click the button below to register for the webinar.
Pacific Northwest (Washington/Oregon) CCLS Program
  • Deadline: TBD
  • RFP: Will be published here when the program opens
  • Funding Source: USFS Pacific Northwest Region

Contact Information

If you have questions not answered on this website or in available CCLS Request for Proposals, please feel free to contact Adam Liljeblad, Director, Conservation Awards at 406.830.3357406.830.3357 or